The ‘Obsolete’ Function

There are times when you will want to remove certain customers, vendors, personnel, or equipment from your database. However, deleting them will cause issues with historic orders that have made use of these pieces of data. To avoid this problem, Tailwind CMS provides the option to ‘Obsolete’ a piece of data. This means that the data will still exist within the database but can no longer be used for orders or dispatches.

Whenever a situation arises in which you need to remove a piece of data, make it ‘Obsolete’. There are several ways to achieve this:

  • Right click on the data from within the module and select ‘Obsolete [Module Type]’.
  • Open the data from within the module, hit ‘File’, then select ‘Obsolete’.
  • Open the data from within the module, then hit “Ctrl-O” on your keyboard.

Any of these options will obsolete the data. The data will still exist in your system. For example, if you obsolete a customer only for them to come back to your company some time later, you can still access that customer by navigating to the “Customer” module, and setting the ‘Filter’ from “All Active” to “All”. This will populate all of the customer records that have been entered into your database, whether they are active or obsolete.

To change the customer back from obsolete, double-click on their entry line in the module list, then select ‘File’. The section “Obsolete Customer” should ticked, as in the image below:

Notice that the records for the customer are also greyed out. This also indicates that the customer has been made obsolete. To change the customer from being obsolete to being active, just click the ‘Obsolete Customer’ in the ‘File’ section. The check mark will disappear and the customer’s data will no longer be greyed out, as in the image below:

The customer is now active again, meaning that they can now be used in orders and dispatches.